These Well-Known Cricket Teams Will Not Be Playing The ICC World Cup 2019.

These Well-Known Cricket Teams Will Not Be Playing The ICC World Cup 2019.

 How will you feel if your favorite team does not qualify for the most happening world cup? Although, The ICC World Cup 2019 will be held in the summers, hosted by England and Wales. Significantly, The series have come a long way and consist of several unforgettable moments that will be cherished for life by all of us.

With ICC just resorting to ten teams, fans are going to miss these 5 amazing teams next year:

5. Scotland:

As much as Scotland would have loved to play where their world cup started-off, the stats show a not-so-good result so as to qualify for next year.  The team, sadly, finished fourth in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018. Consequently, going back in time, the team first played in 1999 World Cup, when the trophy was taken home by the Australians. 

Infact, they finished last in all of the five group matches. As they failed to take a spot in the 2003 series, in 2007, they again got a chance where they finished 15 as they lost all three group matches. Perhaps, they played once more in 2015, but lost all the 6 group matches.

4. Netherlands:

The team first appeared in 1996, when they finished 12th among the 12 participating Nations after losing all f group stage matches. Apparently, failing to make it to the 1999 world cups, the team found a spot in 2003, where they again exited in the group stages with just 1 win out of 6 matches. Subsequently, in 2007, they did not make it ahead of the group stages with just 1 out 3 wins. Past is past, jumping to the 2018 ICC qualifiers, Netherlands finished 7th, keeping them out of the 2019 series.

3. Kenya:

Kenya played for the world cup first time in 1996.  Particularly, the team crashed out in the group stages, but with one solid win out of the 6 matches against the Caribbeans, flipping them over by 73 runs in Pune. Further, they were again knocked out in 1999 group stages. In 2003, they managed to reach the semi finals. Thus, after failing to progress beyond the group stages in 2007 and 2011, they even failed to qualify for the 2015 and 2019 series.

2. Ireland:

The 2007 world cup hosted by West Indies was Ireland’s first appearance in the showpiece event. Certainly, they finished in the Super 8 among the 16 participating nations. Therefore,  it was a ‘Dream World Cup Debut’. Subsequently, Ireland registered an amazing 3-wicket win against 1992 champions Pakistan which garnered them a million fans across the fraternity. Sadly, in 2011, they ended up 11 out of 14 as they won only 2 out of 6 group matches. Ireland would have received immense support if would they have qualified for the 2019 series.

1. Zimbabwe:

The African team first appeared in 1983 matches of the series. Surprisingly, they won their first ever match against the Australians but that was the only match they won in their inaugural series. Further, they lost rest of the 5 matches. Particularly, in one of the encounters against India, they restricted them to 17-5 but all hail Sir Kapil Dev’s batting which moved India to a 31-run win.

 They exited the group stage in the next 3 consecutive series, 1987, 1992, and 1996, before making it to the Super 6 in 1999. They finished 6th in 2003, when they c-hosted with South Africa and Kenya. They again exited the group stages in 2007, 2011 and 2015. They failed to qualify for the 2019 matches.

And so, the ten the 10 teams that will be playing in 2019 ICC World Cup are:

Teams Playing ICC 2019 World Cup
  • England
  • South Africa
  • India
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • West Indies

More gossip, more fun.



Leave a Reply